The Birth of RCUDM

The formation of an additional club within the City of Manila became a reality on January 20, 1972 during a "closed meeting" of the Rotary Club of Manila. It was the culmination of spadework done by a select group headed by Past President Alfonso "Doc" Ayesa. The proposal to cede the territory bound on the north and east by the limits, on the south by the Pasig River, and on the West by Rizal Avenue, was included in the inaugural address of the Past President Carlos "Carling" Arguelles. The districts of Quiapo, Sampaloc, Sta. Mesa and San Miguel fell under the jurisdiction of the Rotary Club of University District Manila.

RCUDM was officially admitted into Rotary International on April 15, 1972 and received its Charter on June 17 on the same year at a gala affair held at the Hotel Enrico with Dr. Francisco "Paco" Roman as Charter President.

At the time of its charter presentation, there were 29 members. The other officers were Vice President Anacleto "Del" del Rosario; Service Directors Francisco "Paquito" Herbosa, Antonio "Justice Tony" Barredo, Jaime "Fr. Boc" Boquiren, Marcial "Cial" Reyes, and Vicente "Vic" Roco; Secretary Ronaldo "Ronnie" Asuncion; Treasurer Eduardo "Eddie" Escobar; and Sgt.-at-Arms Gaudencio "Jun" Palomo.

Rtn. Kendel W. Young, head of the Eastern Hemisphere Department of Rotary International commended Chairman "Doc" Ayesa and his committee for having been successful in the birth of a new club. Mr. Young expressed the hope that "this will be just the beginning of Rotary expansion within the great City of Manila."

Barely a year after receiving its Charter, RCUDM, with an intense desire to perform, "flapped its wings and soared." With a membership force that was not quite 30, the club sponsored the 1973 District Assembly of R. I. District 3810. A lot of water has gone under the bridge since then, but it is truly wonderful to reminisce over the years that followed.

RCUDM gave birth to daughter clubs RC Sampaloc, RC Downtown, RC MIA and RC Uptown.

RCUDM was chosen the most outstanding club of Dist.3810 in RY 1983-1984, and RY 1985-1986, and PP Amang Samson and PP Willy Agnir were chosen outstanding Club Presidents respectively. Since then many Club Presidents went on to become outstanding club presidents in their category. During the past 37 years, RCUDM produced two outstanding District Governors in the persons of PDG Herminio "Sonny" Coloma Jr. (RY 1999-2000) and the late PDG Jose " Pepot" Barredo Jr. (RY 1981-1982).

In the succeeding years, RCUDM organized and maintained the most number of Rotaract and Interact clubs in the District, and consistently garner the most number of awards for its youth service. RCUDM has been sponsoring the district wide Youth Olympics for the last 22 years and medical missions for the last 36 years, notably the ones administered by PP Jess Perez who received a Commitment to Service award from Rotary International during the time of RI President Glenn Estess Sr. RCUDM also received the Excellent in Community Service Award for Best Medical/Dental Mission in June 2001.