District Governor, RY 2011-2012
District 3810, Rotary International

District Governor Ernie Choa joined the Rotary Club of Bagumbayan-Manila in 1991 during the term of then Pres. Danny Yu.  He served as Club Secretary twice and served as Director in all the various Avenues of Service.   He had been recognized as the Club’s Promising Baby Rotarian, Most Promising Rotarian and Most Outstanding Rotarian among other prestigious club awards.  District Governor Ernie is a consistent Perfect Attendance Awardee from 1992 to present.

He Served as President during RY 2000-2001 where he received the District’s top awards such as:  The Overall Most Outstanding Club President Award;  The Overall Most Outstanding Club Award; and the Highest Club Contribution to the Rotary Foundation (US$43,000.00) amongst more than 30 other awards.

He was presented the Outstanding Service Project Award personally by R.I. President Frank Devlyn during the  2000 Asian Presidential Conference  and was recognized internationally during the San Antonio, Texas, R.I. Convention, receiving R.I. President Frank Devlyn’s 21st Century Membership Challenge Award Trophy; an award given only to the top 100 clubs worldwide.

Even prior to his assumption as Club President, he had already served the District as Chairman of the 1999 District Interact Solo Singing Contest, as Chairman of the Institute for District Officers (IDO) 2000, and as the Co-Chairman of the 2000 Rotary Foundation Seminar.

After his Presidency, he went on to consistently serve the District as :

Rotary Year 2001-2002 (Gov. Rudy Estrellado)

Assistant Governor

Acting District Area 1 Director

Dist. Governor’s Special Representative (DGSR) – RC Quirino-Manila

Dist. Governor’s Special Representative (DGSR) – RC Tagumpay-Manila

Chairman - District Matching Grants Monitor

Chairman - District Mid-Year Review

Rotary Year 2002-2003 (Gov. Rosie Go)

Panel Member - R.I. Zone Conference 2002, The Rotary Foundation

District Grants Sub-Committee Chair (DGSC)

Member -  District Nomination Committee (DNC)

Co-Chair - DISCON 2003 Credentials Committee

Rotary Year 2003-2004 (Gov. Alex Huang)

Member - District Preparatory Committee

Member - District Executive Committee

Senior Deputy Governor / Area Director - Manila Area 1

District Grants Sub-Committee Chair (DGSC)

Rotary Year 2004-2005 (Gov. Joel Tinitigan)

Member - District Preparatory Committee

Member - District Executive Committee

Senior Deputy Governor for Programs

District Grants Sub-Committee Chair (DGSC)

Chairman - District Assembly (DISTAS) 2004

District Leadership Academy - Faculty Member

Rotary Year 2005-2006 (Gov.Ed Tumangan)

Chairman - District Literacy Task Force

Chairman - District Badminton Tournament

Chairman - Inter-District Badminton Fellowship

Chairman - Paul Harris Fellow Sustaining Member

District Leadership Academy - Faculty Member

Rotary Year 2006-2007 (Gov.Lyne Abanilla)

Member - District Preparatory Committee

Member - District Executive Committee

Senior Deputy Governor for Programs

Chairman - District Assembly (DISTAS) 2006

Chairman - DISCON 2007 Programs Committee

Chairman - District Bicol Disaster Fund Drive

District Leadership Academy - Faculty Member

Member - District Sergeants-At-Arms Group  

Rotary Year 2007-2008 (Gov. Paco Atayde)

Chairman - 2007 District Conference ( DISCON ) Registration Committee

District Leadership Academy - Faculty Member

Rotary Year 2008-2009 (Gov.Josie Ang)

District Speakers' Bureau Resource Person on:

Membership Development

The Rotary Foundation

Club Leadership Plan (CLP)

Basic Rotary Information

Elected as District Governor for RY 2011-2012

Rotary Year 2009-2010 (Gov.Connie Beltran)

DISCON 2010 – Official Aide to R.I. Dir. / RIPR  K.R Ravindran

He was presented numerous Most Outstanding & Outstanding District Officer Awards and Meritorious Service Awards by the different District Governors for services rendered to the District.   He is also a recipient of the R.I. Four Avenues of Service Award and the Rotary Foundation District Service Award.

District Governor Ernie is an active supporter of the Rotary Foundation and its programs.  He is a Major Donor to the Rotary Foundation’s Bequest Society  and is a Multiple Paul Harris Fellow (1 Ruby).

District Governor Ernie was born on November 11, 1962, the youngest of four siblings, to parents Mr. Johnny Beng Choa and Mrs. Belen Yao.  His primary and secondary education were spent at Hope Christian High School while he received his B.S. in Business Management from San Beda College in 1984.   As a successful businessman, he is currently President and CEO of both Access Agricare, Inc. and Farmers’ Superstore, both engaged in agricultural supplies and crop protection.  He is also the Vice-President and Corporate Secretary of  Capitol Stationery Mfg. Co., Solid Food Corporation, and JEI International (Phils.) Incorporated and is a Director of the Luneta Park Foodcourt, Inc.

Through all the hectic schedules required by his business and Rotary engagements, he derives his energy and inspiration from the full support given by his loving Ann, Celene and his three children, Christianne Elizabeth, Errol Casey and Clarisse Evangeline.